2020 HMURS Program

Friday, September 25, 2020 

1:30-1:35 pm- Introductory Remarks: Dr. Ajay Mallia, Georgia Gwinnett College

1:35-1:40 pm- Welcome: Dr. Sonal Dekhane, Interim Dean, School of Science and Technology, Georgia Gwinnett College

1:40-1:45 pm- Introduction of the 2020 Herty Medalist: Dr. T.J. Arant, Provost, Georgia Gwinnett College

1:45-2:35 pm- Herty Award Address: “Part 1:  What’s In My Drinking Water?  Part 2:  An Unconventional Path to a Rewarding Environmental Career.” Dr. Susan Richardson, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of South Carolina, 2019 Herty Medalist (Click here for the abstract).

2:35-2:45 pm- Break

2:45-3:15  “Synthesis, characterization and biological activity of ferrocenyl derivatives:
Study of the effect of different core moieties and substituents on anticancer and antioxidant activity” Dr. Ingrid Montes, Department of Chemistry, University of Puerto Rico at Río Piedras (Click here for the abstract).

3:20 -4:10 Undergraduate research presentations. (HMURS 2020- Poster  Presntations)

4:15 -4:45 “Nanoparticle models, macroscale impacts”  Dr. Rigoberto Hernandez, Johns Hopkins University (Click here for the abstract).

4:50-5:00 Poster Award Ceremony & Concluding Remarks: Dr. Joseph Sloop, Georgia
Gwinnett College, School of Science and Technology.